Driving without insurance in Texas can cost you significant criminal penalties, confiscation of your license and impounding of your car. And if you cause a car accident in Texas and do not have auto insurance, it could cost you a lot of money.
That is why, if you drive in the state of Texas, it is important to know the Texas legal requirements laws for auto insurance.
Texas has minimum insurance laws, which means you are required to have a certain amount of insurance to be an Austin . This is known as basic coverage:
If you are an Austin driver without auto insurance, there are other options:
You can make a securities deposit with the state Comptroller in the amount of $55,000.
You can use cash or a cashier’s check to deposit $55,000 in the same county where your car is registered, which must be made to the county judge.
If you drive in Texas, instead of purchasing auto insurance you can obtain a surety bond. A surety bond is a legal contract between you and two “sureties” who own property in the state.
The sureties promise to pay the right amount of money if you are in an accident. If you get this type of bond, the sureties must promise to pay at least the same amount as Texas requires for basic coverage.
Texas Drivers who don’t want to purchase standard auto insurance can have auto-insurance. However, in order to qualify for a certificate of self-insurance, you must be able to prove you own a fleet of 25 cars or more.
It is very important to carry proof of insurance at all times. And you can end up in a lot of trouble if you drive without insurance in Texas.
Insurance companies give you these cards when you pay for your policy. It is required by Texas state law to show proof of insurance when you:
Insurance companies give you updated cards every time you renew your car insurance policy. You should keep one card in your wallet, and one card in your car’s glove box.
In the event of a car accident, call Justinian and Associates.