Many times that there is a rear end collision on the road, the rear driver is at fault.
Under Texas law, a rear driver must keep enough distance to stop completely if the front car comes to a sudden stop. This is known as the assured clear distance rule.
Stating what a “safe distance” is can depend on the circumstances. The main rule is:
The faster you drive, the greater the distance between the front and rear cars should be.
Texas traffic laws and the Texas Driver Handbook require you to “keep a safe distance between your car and the one in front of you.” The State of Texas advises the following:
|Driver / Speed||Minimum Time Between Cars||Road Conditions|
|30 mph or less||2 Seconds||Good|
|More than 30 mph||4 seconds||Good|
|Beginning or Inexperienced Drivers||4 seconds at any speed||Good|
There are some situations in which the front driver is at fault. In these cases, fault is often split between several drivers:
These situations can be difficult to prove. A dashboard camera can provide evidence. But if you have been involved in a rear-end collision in Texas, a Austin personal injury can help advise you to ensure your bills and injuries are fairly compensated.