What Happens if I Drive without Insurance in Texas?
The state of Texas has one of the highest rates of underinsured and uninsured drivers in the country. If you get hit by someone who doesn't have insurance, there are a few things you should know.
Insurance companies in Texas must offer uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. It's called UM/UIM. You can refuse this coverage in writing, but it's a good idea to have it. It will pay for damages to your car and any injuries you or your passengers may have suffered.
Most people who add this to their insurance policy choose the same limits as their main insurance and there's a fixed deductible of $250 for all UM/UIM claims. The deductible is the amount of money you have to pay before the insurance company will pay. If you don't add UM/UIM coverage, collision coverage might pay for damage to your car.
Collision coverage is not included in the basic coverage required by Texas state law. The basic coverage pays for any damage caused to another driver's car if you are at fault. Collision coverage pays for damage to your car. It also covers accidents that don't involve another driver.
If you accidentally hit a pole or are in an accident by yourself, collision coverage will pay for your damages. This type of coverage also requires a deductible that is usually higher than UM/UIM. You can choose your own deductible when adding collision coverage.
If your deductible is $500 and the cost to repair your car is $1,500, you would have to pay the $500 out of your pocket. Your insurance company will pay the remaining $1,000.
"Most drivers choose a deductible between $500 to $1,000. The higher your deductible, the lower your rates will be, but you’ll have to pay more toward repairs after a crash."
If you are the one driving without insurance you could end up in a lot of trouble. Texas requires every driver to have insurance by law. If you cause an accident and you don't have insurance, you will have to pay for all of the damages yourself. This can add up.
You would have to pay for any medical costs and car repairs for the person (or persons) you hit. You would also have to pay for your own medical and car repair costs.
You could also be fined for driving without insurance or have your license suspended (meaning you can't drive.) If your license gets suspended and you still drive, you could go to jail if you get pulled over by the police.
It's not a good idea to drive without insurance. Accidents happen when you least expect them.
Texas has what is called a "modified comparative negligence law." This means you will not receive money from your UM/UIM coverage if you are found to be 51% or more at fault. As long as you are found 50% or less at fault, you will receive your money.
If you don't have UM/UIM or collision coverage and are hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver, you may have to sue them to receive money for your damages and injuries. Call Justinian and Associates today.